After dealing with years of terrible decaying devices, I built a brand new shiny computer. Naturally, it must go bad.

Things had deteriorated to the point of crashing whenever a certain (very low) RAM allocation was reached. I grabbed a copy of memtest, and it stopped/crashed partway through a test. OK, definitely a memory issue.

Step two: get clever. I popped one of the RAM sticks out, and ran memtest again. Everything looks clean. Now I have a working computer. Do I leave well enough alone?

Step three: get too clever. I know I have a problem that’s fixed by pulling one RAM stick out of one slot. But! Maybe the RAM stick is bad, but also maybe the mobo slot is bad. Naturally I must do more experiments.

Out goes the good RAM, in goes the suspect stick into its slot. Now the computer doesn’t boot. Aha, I have learned something. Back in goes the good stick, but the computer still doesn’t boot.

So that’s just how things have been going for me.

One thought on “Unrequested Interrupt

Leave a Reply

